The IPC Comparison

IPC school owners and teachers are often asked to compare the key differences between an IPC education and other forms of traditional early childhood education (ECE). The International Preschool Curriculum® was developed to raise international ECE standards by adopting and implementing proven research, much of which has only recently become available. The IPC believes that due to the progressive nature of education, the best forms of education continue to evolve. Therefore, in order to recognize the latest advancements in brain research, pedagogy, motor development, nutrition, and psychology the IPC seeks to incorporate these elements wherever possible. The IPC also draws influence from several recognizable and established philosophers and psychologists, some of which are listed below.

Key Characteristics of the IPC:

  • Objective Based – The curriculum has clearly defined objectives which are designed to facilitate assessment and highlight areas of student progress or concern;
  • Inquiry Based – Limited aspects of inquiry based education designed to spark and maintain interest levels;
  • Play Based – By making learning fun, children are exposed to a learning environment that is second nature;
  • Developmentally Appropriate – The IPC believes that all children develop at varying paces not necessarily defined by age;
  • Family Involvement – The IPC believes that families should be at the center stage of their child’s education;
  • Content Learning Areas – 6 content learning areas and approximately 20 subjects ranging from agriculture to mechanics;
  • Peer reviewed - All materials are reviewed by academic peers to ensure rigor;
  • Updated Regularly – As a living document, the IPC regularly edits and refines its curricula materials. New units to strengthen core skills are added annually;
  • International – As a curriculum that was designed with an international audience in mind, the IPC has a special focus on internationalism, multilingualism and diversity.

The IPC Timeline of Influences

The IPC Student

Content Learning Areas

All 56 thematic units of the IPC cover at least 5 of the 6 content learning areas. The content learning areas (CLA) provide holistic coverage of the US common core standards. There are several subjects that form part of the CLAs including ranging from agriculture to internationalism.


The Mandarin Programme

As part of the partnership with IPC, The White House Preschool will implement a challenging and exciting Mandarin curriculum developed by the CI-NTU(Confucius Institute – Nanyang Technological University). CI-NTU has been jointly established by the Ministry of Education of the People’s Republic of China and NTU in Singapore. CI-NTU aims to strengthen Singapore’s Mandarin capabilities, and to provide Singapore with a common platform in learning the Chinese language and culture. CI-NTU has also won the “Confucius Institute of the Year 2010” accolade.

Programme Objectives & Resources

  • Understand Chinese
  • Converse in Chinese
  • Read Chinese
  • Write in Chinese
  • 70% of content is in accordance with MOE Mandarin syllabus
  • 30% of content transmits the learning of culture and values
  • Lessons are infused with fun and interactive activities
  • A combination of resources like news reports, magazines, songs and poetry will be used to make lessons engaging